Can’t Stop Thinking About George

There was a little cedar wardrobe closet upstairs in my house when I was a kid.  I put a record player and a couple of posters in there, in an attempt to make it a kind of clubhouse.  I had a poster of Band Aid, the British rock super group formed by Bob Geldoff to raise money for Ethiopia in 1985.  I remember playing the Band Aid single “Feed the World” in there.  I also remember hiding out in that clubhouse, playing a cheap re-issue copy of George Harrison’s 1974 album Dark Horse.  I had picked up the album in the bargain bins of a variety store called McCrory in the New Rochelle Mall.  I played the hell out of it.  I still have the record.  It’s all scratched up.  I just put it on and I’m listening to it now.

george-harrison-dark-horse-299547299547b

George loving was a pretty solitary endeavor for a kid in the 80’s.  I couldn’t really get any of my friends on board with my George Harrison solo albums.  George was too old, too mellow and too obscure for them.  Still, I couldn’t help preferring his old albums to Duran Duran or whatever my friends were into.   I also really liked the persona that came across in interviews with George.  I took his memoir I Me Mine out from the library.  I read it and stared at all the pictures.  I liked imagining George’s mellow mansion millionaire musician life.

51JhXx62MlL._SL500_AA300_228909593529894850_Kw112v0W_b

Though he was rich and famous, he was decidedly un-glitzy and he was pretty much completely gone from public life when I was growing up.  He seemed a bit like my dad:  A middle aged guy with a  mustache and a family who stayed out of the limelight and enjoyed gardening.  I could relate to George too.  Like me, he was into music, poetry, comedy and hanging out with his friends.  But unlike me, he had a recording studio in his basement and a heliport on his roof.  He transcended his physical being through meditation and played slide guitar on records with Willie Weeks on bass…and he had been in the Beatles.  So George was my bizarro dad from the spiritual, rock star, magical mystery alternate universe.  I felt very safe and looked after, hanging around with those albums spinning in the background.  I had an old cassette of All Things Must Pass and a few other George solo lps and I played them all the time while I was doing homework, playing board games, building a fort in the living room or otherwise being a kid.  Anytime I’d run across a George record in a bargain bin, I’d buy it for $3.99 and put it in rotation.  My friends tolerated my records as background music, even if they never got into it themselves.

$(KGrHqYOKnEE6G+nBU2dBOjjKGovK!~~60_35

Few rock critics had been up for tolerating those Harrison solo albums when they came out in the 70’s.  Nearly all of the records that I enjoyed mellowing out with had been critically slammed, often rather severely.  George’s only US concert tour met with equally awful reviews.  There was one rock critic called Robert Christgau* who just tore every George album to shreds.  I was too young to catch all of that when it was happening but when I think about it now I imagine that it must have been pretty painful to be out there playing your first solo gigs and have to read over and over again “This guy sucks.  He’s no good without the Beatles.” I don’t know really what to say to all of that criticism. I’m listening to those 70’s records right now and they still sound really good to me.  Sure, it ain’t the Beatles, and it’s rather easy listening but so what?  I’d much rather write ten pretty little songs that aren’t as good as the greatest pop group in history than write a hundred scathing, wise ass lines about Hare Krishna for a deadline.  I’m not saying every moment is brilliant on these George records but the melodies are catchy and often very beautiful.  There are many great sets of lyrics and the grooves are always totally solid.  The singer sings with a lot of heart, even when his voice doesn’t make it all the way.  I can see how these are the kind of songs that are easily taken for granted but that doesn’t mean they should be.  I don’t hear all that many narrators full of heart, soul and groove ruling the airwaves these days.

Ticket - George Harrison   Screen Shot 2013-01-04 at 3.52.31 PM

George eventually resurfaced with comeback hits and videos from Cloud 9 and The Traveling Wilburys in the later 80’s.  By then, the stakes were lower for the reviewer.  The story was no longer the fall of the great hero.  George was no longer in contention for a spot as a top pop idol.  He was just a mellow old retired rock star, getting together with his rock star palls.  Even then, he made catchy records full of heart and soul.

wilburys

I’m guessing you haven’t heard all that many George records.  Or maybe you have.  Here’s what I’ll do:  I’ll list some of my favorite George songs from the solo years.  If you’ve never heard them, maybe you’ll check them out online or even make a playlist.  If you have heard them, maybe you’ll tell me I’ve got it all wrong and list all of your favorites in the comments or maybe you’ll just share some George love.

images zapple02_d

If my count is right, George made two experimental solo albums while still in the Beatles; Wonderwall Music and Electronic Sound.  After the band broke up he made nine solo albums, two collaborative concert albums and two albums with the Traveling Wilburys.  …Not a bad retirement.  There’s also a recently released collection of demos called Early Takes which I really like.

220px-LITMW_album_cover_(clean) 2267 k56319_a

I recommend checking out each album individually and making your own decisions.  Just put them on and get back to building your fort. If you’re looking for an album recommendation, most people will tell you to check out All Things Must Pass George’s triple album blockbuster from 1970, produced by Phil Spector.  My personal favorite is his light rock gem George Harrison from 1979.  Dark Horse, Cloud 9 and Thirty Three & 1/3 are also favorites.  I’m skipping the concert records, though I really like The Concert For Bangla Desh. I’m also skipping the first two albums.  Wonderwall Music is a psychedelic, Indian music-influenced instrumental soundtrack and Electronic Sounds is two sides of Moog madness so I won’t get into those, though I’m glad they exist.

George_Harrison_-_George_Harrison_(Front)

Here are just over forty of my favorite George songs from the solo years (in chronological order).

1.My Sweet Lord

2.Isn’t it a Pity?

3.What is Life?

4.Behind That Locked Door

5.All Things Must Pass

6.Run of the Mill (dig the demo version on Early Takes)

7.Apple Scruffs

8. Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth)

9. Don’t Let Me Wait To Long

10. Simply Shady

11.Maya Love

12. Dark Horse

13. Ding Dong, Ding Dong

14. Far East Man

15. You

16.Can’t Stop Thinking About You

17.Tired of Midnight Blue

18.See Yourself

19.Crackerbox Palace

20.Pure Smokey

21.Love Comes to Everyone

22.Here Comes The Moon

23.Blow Away

24.Dark Sweet Lady

25.All Those Years Ago

26.Save The World

27.Mystical One

28.That’s the Way it Goes

29.This is Love

30.Someplace Else

32.Set on You

33.End Of The Line (with the Travelling Wilburys)

34.Handle with Care (with the Travelling Wilburys)

35.Heading for the Light (with the Travelling Wilburys)

36.Maxine (with the Travelling Wilburys)

37.New Blue Moon (with the Travelling Wilburys)

38.Any Road

39.The Rising Son

40.Lost Inside a Cloud

41.Brainwashed

42.Deep Blue (B Side from 1971)

R-150-3323384-1325764706

*Christgau had actually gone to high school and college with my dad as it turns out.

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Can’t Stop Thinking About George

  1. Julia Joseph says:

    I’ve found of late that I too am a huge George fan. I find his music and performances to be so very honest. His heart and spirit leaps through everything he does. I think if I got the feeling that he was trying to make perfect music, then the critics could touch him, but I don’t think he was working on that level, so his stuff has a kind of transcendence. I appreciate how your narrative voice in this blog has a similar kind of honesty and simplicity. Favorite words: “…mellow mansion millionaire musician life.” Thank you!

    • Milty Rose says:

      Thank YOU for writing in, checking out George records and for your kind words. I agree that George’s work has that transcendent quality to it. It’s very honest very direct, lovely narrative.

  2. Lynda says:

    Honestly, solo-endeavor-wise, he was always my favorite Beatle.. As far as I’m concerned “All Things Must Pass” is one of my marooned on a desert island must haves; maybe I just always related to his particular sort of introspection…

    • Milty Rose says:

      So many of the songs of “All Things Must Pass” have a gentleness and a kindness about them that always comforted me. I think the same can be said about so many of his songs. Thank you for writing.

  3. Jim Morrow says:

    Rock critics ruined my life for several years until I realized what a scam much of it was. I often find myself going back to albums that were not rock crit establishment’s flavor of the day and wondering what on earth they were thinking. Hey, even Exile on Main Street got panned a lot when it was first released; by the same critics that now call it a masterpiece. Don’t Bother Me (was there ever a more prophetic indication of an artist’s sentiment?) was my favorite song on Meet the Beatles, and though I loved them all, George was always closest to my heart.

    • Milty Rose says:

      I like reading what the musicians I respect think about pieces of music that I like. I like learning about pieces of music from musicians that loved those works. I’ve got a copy of ‘Ray Charles at Newport’ because Van Morrison said he learned about horn arrangement from that record. I started listening to Lonnie Johnson because B.B. King said he was a fanatic of his music as a child. I’m not sure what kind of expertise rock critics bring to the table. Most of them can’t play a note. Many of them seem to be attempting to get revenge on people for doing what they wish they could do.

Leave a Reply

